Monday, December 14, 2015

Wings of Fire, The Dragonet Prophecy by Tui T. Sutherland - A Mom Monday Review

A Mom Monday Review
(as reviewed by Olivia, 10 years old.)

Author: Tui T. Sutherland
Publication Date:  1 July 2012
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Series:  Wings of Fire, book 1
Genre:  Middle Grade Fantasy
Age Recommendation: 7 and up
Rating: 4 Stars

Book Description:

The seven dragon tribes have been at war for generations, locked in an endless battle over an ancient, lost treasure. A secret movement called the Talons of Peace is determined to bring an end to the fighting, with the help of a prophecy -- a foretelling that calls for great sacrifice.

Five dragonets are collected to fulfill the prophecy, raised in a hidden cave and enlisted, against their will, to end the terrible war.

But not every dragonet wants a destiny. And when the select five escape their underground captors to look for their original homes, what has been unleashed on the dragon world may be far more than the revolutionary planners intended . . .

(Fan Art created by Olivia to go with book 1)

Olivia's Review:

Wings of Fire The Dragonet Prophecy is about the five young Dragonets of Destiny: Clay, Glory, Sunny, Tsunami, and Starlight and how they escaped from the guardians assigned to to take care of them so they could make their own destinies and find their families.

One of my favorite parts of the story is when Clay meets his brothers and sisters.  One of the funniest parts is when Clay finds out his mother and father sold his egg to the Talons of Peace for two cows.

Four of my favorite characters are: Sunny, because she's always happy. Tsunami, I just like her.  Peril, because she's mysterious and Starflight, because he's smart.

Queen Scarlet is a bit scary at times, but it isn't too scary.

I can't wait for book 8, Escaping Peril to come out, because I think I am going to learn more about Peril and how she got her special fire powers.

Readers should read the books in order unless they are starting in book six because you start to learn about new dragons and even though the Dragonets of Destiny are in the books they aren't the main dragons anymore.

I think this book is good for anyone because it has dragons, princesses, queens, warriors, and more.  It is extremely funny and is one of the only books I know that is all about dragons.

MOM says:

This is a fantastic series for middle grade readers.  It is full of action and surprises that will keep your reader coming back for more.  They will find new friends in these dragons, who through their tale will teach stories of friendship, family, believing in yourself, and finding your strength in the face of adversity.  There can be some 'violent' moments in the story, if you have a reader who is sensitive to darker villains and story lines be sure to read the book yourself first to make sure it will be appropriate for your reader.  I do recommend that the books be read in order and from the beginning of the series to fully enjoy the books.  There are currently 7 books available with book 8 Escaping Peril up not for pre-order and available 29 December 2015.


Okay, I know what you’re thinking. Tui? What kind of name is that? Is it short for something?

Nope. Among the many great things to come out of New Zealand (the Lord of the Rings movies, cats that paint, my mom) is a bird called the tui—not as well known as the kiwi, but a heck of a lot noisier!

I was born July 31 (same birthday as Harry Potter!) in Caracas, Venezuela, and lived in Asuncion, Paraguay; Miami, Florida; and Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, before moving to New Jersey in high school, where I started doing theatre—mostly backstage work, because (a) it was fun, and (b) you got to hang out in the dark with cute boys. (Er, I mean . . . because it was artistically fulfilling, yes.)

I graduated from Williams College in ’98 and I currently live in Boston with my husband, my perfect new baby, and my adorable yoodle Sunshine (what’s a yoodle? A puppy that’s three-quarters poodle and one-quarter Yorkshire terrier, of course!).

Much to my parents’ relief, I abandoned my theatrical aspirations after college for the far more stable and lucrative career of fiction writing.

My first two official books were beginning readers, part of Grosset & Dunlap’s “First Friends” series for kids learning to read. MEET MO AND ELLA is tough to find now, but FUN WITH MO AND ELLA should still be out there somewhere.

My first novel for teenagers was THIS MUST BE LOVE, which retells Shakespeare’s play A Midsummer Night’s Dream in a modern-day high school, from the POV of the two heroines, Hermia and Helena.

And now I'm writing in a new project called SEEKERS! It's a children's book series that I'm writing with Erin Hunter. Check out my blog to find out more!

No comments:

Post a Comment